University of Utah

Founded in 1850, the UU is the state’s public flagship institution and top-tier research university. The U is classified by the Carnegie Foundation among the 137 research universities with the “highest research activity” in the nation and is a member of the Association of American Universities (AAU). Research funding for the 2021 fiscal year totaled $641M. U of U is home to one winner of the Nobel Prize in Medicine, Mario Capecchi, PhD; 14 members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and 13 members of the National Academy of Science.

The UU offers more than 100 undergraduate majors and 92 graduate degree programs. The 18 colleges and schools incorporate nearly 100 departments. These include graduate studies at the School of Medicine (Utah's only medical school), the S.J. Quinney College of Law and Colleges of Engineering, Health, Nursing, Pharmacy, Social and Behavioral Science, and Social Work. There are over 24,000 undergraduate students and 8,000 graduate students at the UU.