Sealaska was formed in 1971 as result of the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act (ANCSA) – the largest land settlement in US history. Through ANCSA, approximately 44 million acres of traditional homelands were returned to Alaska Natives in the form of 13 regional for profit corporations of which Sealaska, with more than 22,000 shareholders, is the largest. Sealaska’s land holdings in Southeast Alaska are roughly 1.6 percent of the traditional homelands that the Tlingit, Haida, and Tsimshian people inhabited for more than 10,000 years. Sealaska’s primary economic drivers are natural resources, land management, environmental services and seafood.